Burnley – Live online

Der Burnley Football Club mit Sitz in Burnley, Lancashire, ist eine englische Fußballmannschaft, die derzeit in der Premier League spielt. Es ist einer der Gründungsvereine der Football League.

Der Fußballverein Burnley Rivers beschloss im Mai 1882, vom Rugby zum Union Football zu wechseln. Das allererste Spiel, das im Oktober desselben Jahres stattfand, endete mit einer enttäuschenden 0:8-Niederlage gegen Astley Bridge.

Sie verlegten ihre Spiele 1883 in das Turf Moor Stadium; das Stadion, in dem sie derzeit noch ihre Spiele austragen. Nur Preston, sein Rivale aus Lancashire, ist länger an einem Standort geblieben als sie.

Die erste Saison der Football League war 1888–1889. Diese Saison verlief für Burnley nicht besonders angenehm, da sie ihre ersten 17 Spiele der Saison verloren hatten. Mit einem 2:0-Sieg über die Blackburn Rovers gelang es ihnen, die Saison mit ihrem ersten Lancashire Cup überhaupt zu retten.

In den folgenden Jahren spielte Burnley in der zweiten Liga. Sie stiegen nach einer Saison, in der sie nur zwei Niederlagen hinnehmen mussten, kurzzeitig auf, fanden sich aber bis 1911/12 wieder in der zweiten Liga wieder, als sie eine Saison mit einer Niederlage hinnehmen mussten.

Sie änderten ihre Farben zu Weinrot und Himmelblau und stiegen 1912–1913 erneut in die First Division auf. In der folgenden Saison gewannen sie ihren ersten großen Pokal und erhielten den Pokal von König Georg V.

Nach dem Krieg blühte das Team hinter dem dynamischen Duo Jimmy Adamson und Jimmy Mcllroy auf. Der Mannschaft gelang es 1959–60, die Meisterschaft zu gewinnen. Nachdem diese beiden verschwunden waren, begann für das Team von 1976 bis 1987 ein Niedergang, der nahezu in Vergessenheit geriet.

Es dauerte bis 1992, vier Jahre nachdem sie das Football League Trophy-Spiel gegen die Wolves im Wembley-Stadion verloren hatten, um ihre Meisterschaftsform wiederzuerlangen und die Meisterschaft der Division 4 zu gewinnen.

Getreu ihrer Tradition ist das Turf Moor-Stadion in vier Tribünen unterteilt, die alle nach ehemaligen Spielern benannt sind. Der Stand von James Hargreaves, der Stand von Bob Lord, der Stand von David Fishwick und vor allem der Stand von Jimmy Mcllroy.

Neueste Burnley-Nachrichten

'Tough moment' in Brighton season - De Zerbi (Apr 13, 2024 18:52)
Brighton manager Roberto de Zerbi says his side are in a "tough moment" after their 1-1 Premier L...

'It's our mistake' - Bellamy takes responsibility for goal (Apr 13, 2024 18:47)
Burnley assistant manager Craig Bellamy says the coaching staff take "full responsibility" for go...

Muric own goal 'not his fault' as Burnley denied win (Apr 13, 2024 18:24)
A calamitous own goal by goalkeeper Arijanet Muric prevents Burnley from securing a vital Premier...

Burnley – Live Online

Based out of Burnley, Lancashire, Burnley Football club is an English football team currently playing the Premier League. It is one of the founding clubs of The Football League.

The Burnley Rivers football club decided to make the switch from Rugby to Union Football in May of 1882. Their very first game, which came in October of that same year ended with a disappointing 8-0 defeat at the hands of Astley Bridge.

They moved their games to Turf Moor Stadium in 1883; the stadium in which they still play their games currently. Only Preston, their Lancashire rivals have remained in one location longer than them.

The first season of The Football League was 1888-1889. That season was not very kind to Burnley seeing as though they lost their first 17 games of the season. They did manage to salvage the season with their first ever Lancashire Cup with a 2-0 victory over Blackburn Rovers.

The years that followed found Burnley playing in the Second division. They were promoted briefly following a season in which they only had two losses, but found themselves back in Second division up until 1911-12 when they had a one-loss season.

They changed their colours to claret and sky blue and in 1912-13 were once again promoted to First Division. The following season they won their first major cup and were presented the cup by King George V.

Postwar is when the team flourished behind the dynamic duo of Jimmy Adamson and Jimmy Mcllroy. The team managed to win the championship in 1959-60. Once those two were gone, the team began a decline into near oblivion from 1976-1987.

It took them until 1992, four years after they lost the Football League Trophy game to Wolves at Wembley Stadium to regain their championship form, winning the Division four championship.

True to honoring their tradition, Turf Moor stadium is divided into four stands all named after former players. The James Hargreaves stand, the Bob Lord stand, the David Fishwick stand and most notably, the Jimmy Mcllroy stand.

Latest Burnley News

Ipswich sign Burnley keeper Muric (Jul 17, 2024 12:25)
Kosova keeper Arijanet Muric says "this is the right place for me" after completing his move from...

Burnley sign Caen's Hountondji on four-year deal (Jul 17, 2024 12:03)
Burnley sign striker Andreas Hountondji from French side Caen on a four-year deal for an undisclo...

Burnley sign Brazilian left-back Pires (Jul 16, 2024 15:20)
Burnley have signed Brazilian left-back Lucas Pires on a four-year deal from Santos for an undisc...